Сладость или гадость?

Вампиры существуют на свете; некоторые из вас убедились в этом воочию. Даже если бы у нас не было собственного печального опыта, учения и свидетельства прежних времен достаточно убедительны для здравомыслящих людей.

Брэм Стокер«Дракула»



 

Хеллоуин (от англ. All Hallows’ Evening – «день всех святых») пришёл к нам из культуры англоязычных стран. Большинство историков считают прообразом Хеллоуина кельсткий языческий праздник Самайн (Samhain – от староирландского «конец лета»).


По представлениям кельтов в ночь Самайна между нашим миром и миром духов открывалась невидимая дверь, через которую усопшие родственники могли заглянуть в гости к своим живущим потомкам. Но также, через эту дверь в наш мир могли проникнуть и всевозможные злые духи. Чтобы этих духов напугать и прогнать, люди надевали тряпичные маски. А для защиты жилищ – использовались «светильники Джека», изначально вырезанные из репы, а уже впоследствии заменённые на тыкву.

Сейчас празднование Хеллоуина прочно вошло в культуру множества народов. К сожалению, многие традиции позабылись, или же несколько изменились. «Страшные костюмы» теперь конкурируют с костюмами ролевыми (супергерои, персонажи фильмов и сказок). А угощение, изначально предназначенное для духов предков, теперь достается детям, ходящим в эту ночь от дома к дому, с уже известным всем «сладость или гадость» – имеется в виду мелкая шалость, если у хозяина дома не окажется конфет.


Помню, во времена своей готичной молодости – это был единственный день в году, когда люди спокойно реагировали на черный макияж, контактные линзы и довольно-таки мрачный внешний вид. И поскольку, в своей повседневной жизни я довольно часто посещаю костюмированные вечеринки, ночь Хеллоуина у меня всегда ассоциируется с персонажами ужастиков: привидения, вампиры, зомби и ведьмы =)

Posted on in Выход В Свет

Trick or Treat!

There are such beings as vampires, some of us have evidence that they exist. Even had we not the proof of our own unhappy experience, the teachings and the records of the past give proof enough for sane peoples.

Bram Stoker"Dracula"



 

It is widely believed that many Halloween traditions originated from ancient Celtic harvest festivals, particularly the Gaelic festival Samhain (in old Irish means “end of summer”); and that Samhain itself was Christianized as Halloween by the early Church. Halloween is a contraction of “All Hallows’ Evening”.


According to the Celtic beliefs, this night was seen as a liminal time, when the boundary between this world and the Otherworld thinned. The ancestors could come to visit their descendants. But this also meant the spirits or fairies, could more easily come into our world and were particularly active as well. It may have originally been a tradition whereby people impersonated the souls of the dead, and received offerings on their behalf. Impersonating these beings, or wearing a disguise, was also believed to protect oneself from them. In some places, torches lit from the bonfire were carried around homes and fields for protection. This tradition gave life to the Jack O’Lantern later on.

Today’s Halloween customs had some changes. In competition with “scary costumes”, some wear some disguises like superheroes, fairy tale or movie characters. And the offerings for the spirits are now going to youth. Children go in costume from house to house, asking for treats such as candy or sometimes money, with the question, “Trick or treat?” The word “trick” implies a “threat” to perform mischief on the homeowners or their property if no treat is given.


When I was young I really appreciated this holiday. My everyday style was really gothic, with all my black make up, contact lenses and a gloomy look. So this day was the only one when people didn’t look at me strangely. Now I go to the costumed parties very often, so for me Halloween is a day of the “scary costumes”: ghosts, vampires, zombies and witches.

Posted on in High Life